Reviews & guidesAustralia
The Health Review
Straight talk on healthy ageing, energy and recovery
JointsEnergyGutSleepBeautyReviews
Sponsored content · Published by Gelpro Australia
Home›Reviews›Collagen Powders
Buyer's Guide
★ 4.96 / 51,849 verified reviews100,000+ customers
Updated October 20268 min read

We Compared 6 Collagen Powders Sold In Australia On Dose, Price Per 10 g, Additives And Origin. Here Is The Ranking.

Six products, the nutrition panels laid side by side, and every figure taken from the brand's own Australian website. We scored them on four things you can check yourself: how much collagen is actually in a serve, what it costs per 10 g of collagen, what else is in the tub, and whether the origin is stated. Gelpro publishes this page and makes the product that came first. The scoring is below so you can argue with it.

H
The Health Review EditorialReviewed October 2026 · Sponsored by Gelpro Australia · All figures from each brand's own Australian website
fXin✉
Woman in a chemist aisle holding two collagen tubs, squinting at the back label
The aisle. Two tubs, the same promise, forty dollars apart. Nobody can read the back.

If you have ever stood in the supplement aisle, or scrolled past the fourth collagen ad of the morning, you know the problem. Every tub says "hydrolysed peptides", every tub has a glowing woman on it, and the prices run from $25 to $90 with no obvious reason why.

So we did the boring thing. We took six of the most searched collagen powders in Australia, put the panels and prices next to each other, and worked out what you actually get for your money.

Disclosure. This is sponsored content published by Gelpro Australia, which makes Peptipro, the product ranked first. Competitor figures were taken from each brand's own Australian website in October 2026 and are listed with the calculations below. A supporting comparison sheet with sources is available on request. Prices change; check before you buy.

How we ranked them

Each product was scored 0 to 3 on four criteria. Collagen per serve counts double, because it is the one that decides whether a daily scoop reaches the amount used in the research. Maximum score is 15.

  1. Collagen per serve (x2) 3 points for 14 g or more, 2 for 10 to 13.9 g, 1 for 5 to 9.9 g, 0 under 5 g. Studies on joints and skin used about 10 g a day.
  2. Cost per 10 g of collagen Price divided by serves, divided by collagen per serve, scaled to 10 g. 3 points under $1.25, 2 for $1.25 to $1.60, 1 for $1.61 to $2.10, 0 above. Standardised so a small scoop cannot hide a high price.
  3. What else is in it 3 points for collagen only, 2 for added vitamins or actives with no sweeteners, 1 for sweeteners or flavours, 0 for sugar.
  4. Origin stated 3 points for a named country of origin on the label or product page, 1 for "grass-fed" or "bovine" with no country, 0 for nothing.

Peptipro 14 · Nutraviva 13 · The Collagen Co. 10 · Vital Proteins 9 · Nutra Naturals 8 · Gummies 0. Working shown in the side-by-side table.

Six dishes with different amounts of collagen powder beside a kitchen scale
What one "serve" looks like from each tub. The difference is not subtle.

See the #1 pick now

The 5 mistakes people make buying collagen

The ranking

#1 · 14 / 15

Gelpro Peptipro Original Hydrolysed Collagen

500 g tin · $69 · 33 serves · gelatinaustralia.com.au

Gelpro Peptipro collagen tin
14.6 gper serve
$1.43per 10 g collagen
1ingredient
AUSorigin stated
Pros
  • 14.6 g collagen protein per serve (97% protein), second highest of the six
  • Nothing else in the tin. No sweeteners, flavours or anti-caking agents
  • 100% Australian grass-fed and finished, says so on the label
  • Certified FODMAP friendly by Monash University
  • Tasteless, dissolves clear in hot or cold
  • 4.96 from 1,849 reviews
Cons
  • Only sold online
  • Not the cheapest per 10 g; Nutraviva beats it on price
  • Scoop handle is short (customers mention it)

Verdict: Top score on dose, additives and origin, and second on price per 10 g. The only product here that clears 14 g in one scoop with nothing else in the tin and a named Australian origin. If you want one scoop a day that covers joints, recovery, gut and hair and nails, this is the one. Gelpro makes it, and we have said so above.

See The #1 Pick

Ships Australia-wide · Free AU shipping over $149 · PayPal, Apple Pay, Shop Pay

Also in 1 kg and bulk bundles

#2 · 13 / 15

Nutraviva Australian Collagen Hydrolysate

400 g pouch · $44.54 · 40 serves

Nutraviva Australian collagen hydrolysate 400 g pouch
10 gper serve
$1.11per 10 g collagen
1ingredient
AUSorigin stated
Pros
  • Cheapest per 10 g of collagen in the line-up
  • 100% Australian sourced and made, no additives
  • Halal option available
Cons
  • Serve is a 10 g tablespoon, about a third less than #1
  • The brand's own page says it has "a slightly stronger taste and aroma" than its imported range
  • Pouch, not tin

Verdict: A very close second and the value pick. Australian, one ingredient, and the lowest price per gram here. It lost to #1 on serve size only: 10 g a scoop versus 14.6 g. If you are happy with a 10 g serve and do not mind the taste note, it is a strong choice.

#3 · 10 / 15

The Collagen Co. Unflavoured Collagen Powder

420 g tin · $79 · 28 serves

The Collagen Co. unflavoured collagen powder 420 g tin
15 gper serve
$1.88per 10 g collagen
4actives
N/Sorigin
Pros
  • Highest collagen per serve of the six at 15 g
  • Unflavoured, no sweeteners
  • Adds vitamin C, hyaluronic acid and biotin
  • Big brand, easy to find
Cons
  • Highest cost per serve of the five priced products at $2.82, and $1.88 per 10 g of collagen
  • "Grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine" but no country of origin stated on the product page
  • Collagen shares the scoop with added actives

Verdict: The biggest serve in the line-up and a clean unflavoured formula. You pay for it: $2.82 a serve is 35% more than Peptipro's $2.09 ($79 over 28 serves versus $69 over 33), and the origin is not named.

#4 · 9 / 15

Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides

284 g tub · RRP $48 (often discounted) · 28 serves

Vital Proteins collagen peptides tub
10 gper serve
$1.71per 10 g at RRP
1ingredient
N/Sorigin
Pros
  • One of the biggest collagen brands in the world, stocked at most chemists
  • Unflavoured version is one ingredient
  • Frequently discounted below RRP, which improves its price score
Cons
  • 10 g per serve, the brand's own headline number
  • Country of origin not stated on the Australian retail listings we checked
  • Flavoured versions carry sweeteners and flavours

Verdict: A respectable one-ingredient product with a smaller serve. Scored at RRP ($48 for 284 g); at a chemist discount it can be the cheapest per gram here, so check the shelf price.

#5 · 8 / 15

Nutra Naturals Collagen Beauty Unflavoured

225 g · $43.95 · 18.5 serves

Nutra Naturals Collagen Beauty unflavoured 225 g
11.7 gper serve
$2.03per 10 g collagen
3actives
N/Sorigin
Pros
  • Adds vitamin C and zinc, which help collagen formation
  • Widely stocked in retail
  • Unflavoured option
Cons
  • 11.7 g collagen in a 12 g scoop, so a smaller serve than #1 or #3
  • $2.38 a serve and $2.03 per 10 g of collagen, the highest per gram of the five priced products
  • Country of origin not stated on the product page

Verdict: A well-made beauty collagen with useful added vitamin C and zinc. It ranks here on price per gram and an unstated origin, not on quality. If skin is your main goal and you want the vitamins built in, it is a reasonable pick.

#6 · 0 / 15

Supermarket collagen gummies (any brand)

Typically 60 gummies · $25 to $35

Generic jar of collagen gummies
2 to 5 gper serve
$2 to $5per 10 g collagen
8+ingredients
N/Sorigin
Pros
  • They taste like lollies
  • Easy to remember
Cons
  • 2 to 5 g of collagen, a fraction of the dose used in research
  • Sugar, pectin, flavours, colours
  • You would need to eat the jar to match one scoop of #1

Verdict: Convenient, but a small serve of collagen with sugar and additives around it. If this is what you "tried collagen" with and felt nothing, the serve size is the likely reason.

See the #1 pick's label

Side by side

Collagen / servePrice · serves$ / serve$ / 10 gExtrasOriginScore
Gelpro Peptipro14.6 g$69 · 33$2.09$1.43NoneAustralia14
Nutraviva10 g$44.54 · 40$1.11$1.11NoneAustralia13
The Collagen Co.15 g$79 · 28$2.82$1.88Vit C, HA, biotinNot stated10
Vital Proteins10 g$48 RRP · 28$1.71$1.71NoneNot stated9
Nutra Naturals11.7 g$43.95 · 18.5$2.38$2.03Vit C, zincNot stated8
Gummies2 to 5 g$25 to $35 · 30$0.80 to $1.20$2 to $5Sugar, flavoursNot stated0

Swipe sideways to see all columns

$ / 10 g = price ÷ serves ÷ collagen per serve × 10. Prices, serve sizes and ingredient lists taken from each brand's own Australian website on 21 October 2026 (Vital Proteins: supplier RRP as listed by Australian pharmacies; retail prices vary from about $24 to $41). Gummies are a category estimate. Check current pricing before you buy.

Why #1 won

It came down to one scoop. Peptipro's 15 g serve is 14.6 g of collagen protein with nothing else in the tin, it names its Australian origin on the label, and it carries an independent certification you can look up (Monash FODMAP). Nutraviva ran it close and beats it on price per gram; Peptipro won because a single scoop gives you nearly 50% more collagen, which is the criterion we weighted highest.

The reviews back it. 4.96 out of 5 across 1,849 verified reviews on gelatinaustralia.com.au, with the same things repeated: hair and nails, digestion, and that it disappears into coffee.

★★★★★
Feeling great!

I have been using this product for approximately 2-3 years now and feel great on it! Keeps me full, hair and nails grow so much and can feel my joints no longer ache! Staple in my home.

Anne M.D. · Verified Gelpro customer
★★★★☆
Easy to use

Dissolves easily into hot and cold drinks without altering the flavour or texture. A scoop with a long handle would be better suited.

Mere · Verified Gelpro customer
Gelpro Peptipro 500 g tin
Our pick: Peptipro Original Hydrolysed Collagen · 500 g
★★★★★

4.96 out of 5 · Rated by 1,849 verified customers

$69 33 serves · about $2.09 a day
Shop Peptipro

Ships Australia-wide · Free AU shipping over $149 · PayPal, Apple Pay, Shop Pay

Questions readers asked

Did Gelpro pay for this ranking?

Yes. This is sponsored content published by Gelpro Australia, which makes the #1 product. Every figure, source and calculation is shown above so you can check it yourself, and the scoring gave Nutraviva second place one point behind.

Is 10 g a serve really not enough?

It is not nothing. Most of the joint and skin research used 10 g or more a day for 8 to 12 weeks. A 10 g serve is the floor; 14 to 15 g gives you margin if you skip a day.

Bovine or marine?

Marine is Type I only and is popular for skin. Bovine gives Types I and III and is the one used in most joint and recovery research. For an all-rounder, bovine.

How long until I notice anything?

Give any of them twelve weeks of daily use before you judge. Nails usually show first.

Bottom line

Buy on the panel, not the packaging. Fourteen point six grams, one ingredient, a named Australian origin, about two dollars a day. Nothing else in the line-up scored higher on those four together.

Get The #1 Pick

Ships Australia-wide · Free AU shipping over $149 · PayPal, Apple Pay, Shop Pay

500 g · $69 · 4.96 / 5 from 1,849 reviews

#1 Peptipro Collagen 500 g$69 · 4.96 ★ (1,849)
Shop Peptipro